Timing of queries

HELP!  I am fairly new to CDI and I have some general questions about timing of queries i.e. writing queries before the Attending has had a chance to weigh in on the documentation.  For example, if the attending has done the H/P and later that night the patient is taken to surgery and the surgeon found another issue ie  cholecystitis  when the pre op dx was appendicitis.   The attending has not seen the patient since surgery and a query is written at 6am  for the attending to document the cholecystitis (pt's surgery completed at  8 pm the night before )  this just doesn't seem correct to me... any thoughts ??

Comments

• I agree with you. I would give a provider time to document the condition, especially something like that which he/she is unlikely to overlook.

sending queries preemptively will understandably frustrate providers and potentially break down the relationship between CDI and providers.

Katy

• My preference is to allow for at 24 hours before any query..optimal is 48 hours as this provides time for analysis and comment of various studies.   We need to provide time for clinicians to study the case and provide documentation of their thought process rather than try to preempt that process.
  • Agreed, That's where the autonomy of the position should come into play. They have hired you into this role for your clinical knowledge and critical thinking skills and you should also be allowed to interject some common sense. I do not know if you are under strict productivity guidelines and/or query rates, etc.. that may influence some of your decisions. I totally agree with you and Katy. The last thing you want to do is anger your Providers and make them query weary...you want them to know that when you send a query it is justified and they know it needs their attention.

Jeff