Creating a CDI program

I am reaching out the ACDIS community for help.  My organization has been trying to create a CDI initiative but are continuing to have little recognition of our efforts.  I am employed under HIM and have worked hard to educate myself about the CDI in and outs as well as working very closely to our inpatient coder.  We are a small organization and do not have any software in place to aid in our processes nor the backing of our CMO. There is a strong history between the CMO and my current Director which is not helpful but toxic. I guess the other piece of information that I need to interject is that the CMO believes that the only individual who is qualified to do this position is an RN, my background is in Radiology but 20+ years in Cardiac Cath Lab.

I appreciate any and all help or suggestions.

Thank you,

DSCHR

Comments

• I would:
    1.  Endeavor to complete the ACDIS boot camp, either live or virtual.  It will provide you with much background and context 
    2.  Avail myself to all of the free guidance offered in the Resources Section on the ACDIS site.

Best:   Paul
  • DSCHR, 

You mention there is a "strong" history between your director and the CMO. I would challenge you to approach the CMO and have a discussion regarding what your goals are (ie. a more accurate and complete record). I would also ask you...who decided to implement the CDI program? I would have them there to assist in the conversation (unless it is your director), then you might want to tackle it yourself. Once you start developing the relationship w/ your CMO. You need to get out and talk with the Providers. The better the relationship you have with your Providers, they more likely they will respond to your queries and education!! I am rather new to CDI, Started in March 2017. We had a rocky start, but we currently have 3 CDS's for a 150+ bed pediatric hospital (Dayton Children's). We are usually in the 85-90% response rate to queries.