Increasing Queries

As a CDI Manager, I am always looking for opportunities to increase query volume.  Does anyone have any strategies for increasing query volume.  Open to any and all suggestions.

Comments

• As a manager I am curious why you are looking to increase your volume of queries? Are you trying to meet a benchmark that a consulting firm has given you? Are the coding staff issuing tons of retro queries that could be issued on concurrently?

Do you query for complication clarification? HAC's? PSI's?

I think trying to meet a query % defeats the entire purpose of documentation improvement. As an academic med ctr we see our %'s spike in the months after new residents are onboarded and through education we start to see them drop...the same is true when a new attending MD is onboarded, we generally end up querying them more but then it levels off with front end education, tip cards, posters, etc.. not saying this occurs with 100% of them but it definitely does with those who are interested in portraying the actual SOI/ROM and resource consumption of their patients.

Thanks,

Jeff

• I agree w/ Jeff's thoughts.  Not being critical, at all - so please know that.   BUT, I do not 'care' for the idea that a site 'must' have XX% of queries issued as this is a very simplistic approach. 

We have different campuses, different staff, and different types of patient mix and complexity of care, and each site has its own 'query rate'.   IF a Consulting firm or Executive is mandating you 'must' have a certain query rate, I'd suggest you ask them to explain the rationale?

Paul Evans.

• I agree w/ Jeff's thoughts.  Not being critical, at all - so please know that.   BUT, I do not 'care' for the idea that a site 'must' have XX% of queries issued as this is a very simplistic approach.