CCDS Prep

Hi all!  I know I will be taking the CCDS exam in the future- right now I only have 1 year into CDI.  At what time do you start prepping for the exam?  I know a year might be a bit far out, but at what point do I look at purchasing the study guide etc?  Thanks for the feedback.

Comments

• Now is the time to prepare and you are doing that in a sense in your day to day role. The study guide is good. Read the Coding Guidelines & Practice Brief. I took the CCDS exam prep course (Sharm Brodie, instructor) and it really helped to prepare me. There is a book that comes along with the prep course as well. I passed the exam on first try. Make notes in your DRG expert in an organized manner so that you can easily reference during the exam. You can do it! It is a good feeling to accomplish the certification.

• Hello, I just passed the CCDS on Saturday- hardest test I ever took! I have been a CDI for 2 1/2 years. I started studying last summer when I was off recovering from surgery. It was overwhelming when I first started looking at the study guide. There is a lot of Data and Analysis stuff I am not required to do in my job and never heard of. Best advice- buy the study guide, take the practice test and see where your strengths and weaknesses are. The study guide gives a very broad overview of stuff. I did not go to a Boot Camp- way too expensive after having to pay $300 for the test and $150 for the study guide. Glad I only had to take it once!  Good luck!